Reserve Bank of Malawi

Malawi- Country Profile Overview

  • Posted on: 26 November 2010
  • Updated on: 26 November 2010
  • By: radmin

Established in 1891, the British protectorate of Nyasaland became the independent nation of Malawi in 1964.

As a landlocked country located in southern central Africa along the western side of part of the Great Rift Valley of Africa,Malawi is bordered by Tanzania to the North East, Zambia to the west and Mozambique to Southeast and South.

Covering a total area of 118,484 sq. km and comprising an estimated population of 12 million, it stretches some 900 kilometres north to south and between 90 and 161 kilometres east to west.

Central Banks: